The Worst Part

We had our second test on Tuesday night. I think it went well… I didn’t blatantly miss any questions, but it’s hard to tell what the Chef could take points off of in terms of how thorough my explanations were, ect. Honestly, I think waiting to get your grade back is the worst part–even worse than studying for the test itself.

According to one of my classmates, another classmate cheated off of one of the girls in our class. Even though I wasn’t involved, this really makes me mad. I studied and to think that one of my classmates got by with cheating really angers me. If I have a full-time job and can still find time to not only study for the test, but also to do well on the test, than everyone else can too. I guess there is nothing I can do about it though…

After the test, we continued with fish. This time we worked with flatfish, as opposed to round fish. We made goujonettes, which is basically a fancy way of saying “fish sticks” and braised flounder. Looking back, the goujonettes turned out alright. It had a few extra components, like the potato basket, that are difficult to make and we should be proud for executing well. The braised flounder, on the other hand, was disasterous. We ran out of time at the end of class, and our sauce was not reduced properly. That’s not the worst of it though–our fish wasn’t even cooked all the way through. Oy.

Goujonettes

Goujonettes

All-in-all the rest of class was pretty frustrating on Tuesday night. It just seemed like everything I made was terrible and/or done badly somehow. Unfortunately, I let myself get pretty frustrated and, I have to admit, it was the first time that I really didn’t want to be there. I can’t believe how much I let it get to me, and I actually felt bad for my boyfriend because I definitely got more frustrated with him than I should have due to my mood. Maybe it’s because class has been relatively stress-free thus far and it was a new problem I was experiencing. I don’t know? All I know is I am going to try to bring my “A game” to tonight’s class–shellfish!

Leave a Reply

