Apple and Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Sausage Risotto

As I mentioned before, I went apple picking on Sunday afternoon and had a million and one apples to use up.

I know everyone is on pumpkin and now butternut squash overload (not that that’s a bad thing–I love both!), I figured I’d share an apple recipe that was a little more unusual.

Last night I made myself apple risotto with chicken sausage. I didn’t expect it to be that wonderful, because not only have I never made risotto before, but I also wasn’t quite sure the flavors I chose would pair entirely well together. Oh my goodness was I wrong.

Despite the rice being a bit more al dente than I would have liked, the aroma was heavenly and the flavor was so so delicious. I ate it up so fast that I never even took a decent picture of it…To my credit, I was studying for my test and can’t believe I actually had time to make dinner in the first place.

I hope you will all trust that this recipe is amazing and make it for yourself sometime. You will not be disappointed!

Apple and Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Sausage Risotto
Adapted from The Washington Post 
Serves 4

4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
2 T extra virgin olive oil
3 sun-dried tomato chicken sausages (approximately 8-9 ounces), casings removed (just start at the top and peel back the rubbery outside)
1 small onion, diced
2 crisp medium apples, cored and diced
1 cup of short or medium grained rice
1 cup white wine

1. Heat chicken broth until it comes to a boil. Adjust to low heat to keep warm.

2. While broth heats, saute chicken sausages (you can use any mild variety of sausage) in a large saucepan over medium heat until slightly browned. Add onion and apples and saute until soft, but not colored (if your onions and apples begin to brown, your heat is too high). Once onions and apples have softened, stir in rice.

3. Add 1/2 cup of the white wine and stir until liquid has evaporated. Once liquid has evaporated, add enough chicken broth to cover rice. Let simmer, stirring continuously. As broth begins to absorb below the level of the rice, add more broth 1/2 cup at a time until broth is gone.

4. Add the second half of the wine and stir until incorporated and absorbed into the rice mixture. The risotto should be done at this point, you can tell your risotto is done when it looks creamy and the rice is slightly firm to the bite. If your prefer your risotto a bit softer, slowly add more warm broth until you’ve reached your desired consistency.

Even though it’s a pain, it’s very important to stir continuously. I kind of skimped on this, because I was studying simultaneously but that’s definitely why my risotto was more al dente than I would have preferred.

By the way, I think this could be made into a delicious vegetarian meal by using veggie stock and eliminating the sausage. The sausage definitely adds great flavor, but it’s not entirely necessary. If you eat fish, shrimp would probably be delicious as well.

Hope you like it!

What’s the best thing you’ve made for dinner recently?

Tags:

Leave a Reply

