Ramblings and Potato Overload

…And I’m back. I don’t know what was going on this past week, but I guess I really needed the week-long hiatus. I got a bit off track with my test last week, then the holiday weekend, and before I knew it a week had gone by.

So, as is evident, I’ve changed the name of this blog. The other one just didn’t sit right with me. I liked the idea of it, but I really couldn’t commit to it with all that I have going on. I want to be able to share my adventures in culinary school and those recipes, as well as any of my own recipes and/or ideas for healthy (or not so healthy) living. Plus, this name is much cuter and just sort of suits me. I think. I figured I may as well make the name change while I still have (maybe always will?) minimal readership.

A quick update on what I’ve been working on at school….

Thursday: We had our first test, and I felt really good about it when I was done. Guess my feeling was pretty accurate because I was more than pleased with my score. After the test, we got started on our soup lesson! We made split pea soup, beef consomme, french onion soup, and farmer’s vegetable soup. This lesson was a lot of fun, because it was fairly low-key but still yielded a delicious product (except our split pea which was a weird color but somehow still tasted amazing?).

French Onion Soup

French Onion Soup

Saturday: We had a substitute chef (that sounds funny!) on Saturday for our preservation lesson. Let me tell you, I love this stuff! I’ve been making jam every fall for a number of years now, and I absolutely love pickles of nearly any kind so this was right up my alley. We made gravlax (cured salmon), duck confit, pickled veggies, preserved lemons, this salted cod puree that I’ve completely blocked out because it was disgusting, and we had some time leftover to poach some pears in a red wine reduction (which someone has since stolen from the fridge at school….rude!).

Pickled Veggies and Lemons

Pickled Veggies and Lemons

Tuesday: We had our salad lesson on Tuesday night. Thank the lord. I’ve been eating so much heavy, oily, salty foods at school that I really have been craving vegetables. When family meal comes, my friends laugh because all I can talk about is how much I just want the salad. Guess my body knows it’s being fed on overdrive and needs healthy food–I don’t know what to say. Anyway, we made a cooked veggie salad with tomato fondue (bound together with straight mayo–not exactly healthy), nicoise salad, and a bitter greens and herbs salad with a classic vinaigrette that is suspiciously similar to my favorite salad dressing which was created by my grandma. This was also a pretty relaxing class in which I had so much fun with Ron.

Cooked Vegetable Salad With Tomato Fondue
Cooked Vegetable Salad With Tomato Fondue
Nicoise Salad

Nicoise Salad

Bitter Greens and Herb Salad With Croutons

Bitter Greens and Herb Salad With Croutons

Thursday: Devastating news–Ron and I were split up today. Not to worry, the separation is only temporary, and we will be joining forces again tomorrow. I think. Anyway, last night was potato night. All I can say is: NO. MORE. CARBS. No, I would not like a bagel (my fav), bread, pasta, and especially no potatoes. My stomach hurts just thinking about potato city last night. We made pommes darphine, pommes darphinois, pont neuf (french fries that we turned into disco fries–fries with veal reduction, gruyere cheese, and chunks of bacon slathered all over it), and this other thing I can’t remember the name of (it was pommes puree with egg yolk and some other stuff in it and then piped out, breaded, and fried). Today, in the aftermath, I feel like one giant baked potato. We did get our midterm evaluations at the end of class last night. I was definitely satisfied with my review, but hope that it’s a bit higher for the final evaluation.

Pommes Darphine

Pommes Darphine

Disco Fries

Oh, hello disco fries.

Wow, so much rambling.

Tomorrow is fish day. Is it just me or is it cruel to make us gut fish for the first time ever on a Saturday night when I’m supposed to be going out afterwards? I’m gonna walk into the bar, and people are gonna drop dead. Will have to take about 500 showers before going out, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

