Full Fall Weekend

It’s hard to believe how quickly this weekend went–I guess I was just having way too much fun.

On Friday I went to the Devil’s game with my boyfriend, and we met some of his friends there. I hadn’t been to a hockey game in such a long time and, even though our seats were pretty high up, we actually had the perfect bird’s eye view of the entire rink.

Saturday was kind of a sluggish day that I spent mostly indoors (even though it was such a beautiful day) because I had test #3 on Saturday night. I didn’t study as much as I normally do, but I also didn’t completely blow it off. The test was extremely difficult–much more so than the other two. I could blame it on my lack of in-depth studying, but I really don’t think studying more would have helped much. The things I missed were actually from prior chapters that most of us didn’t review because we didn’t think they’d be on the exam. We were all in agreement that it was a really hard test, but I guess Chef snuck those questions in to see who’s really retaining the stuff we’ve learned. I guess we’ll get our tests back tomorrow night, but I’m really curious to see how I did. I’d guess I got somewhere between a high B to an A-. Not terrible, but also not up to par with my previous scores.

Luckily, I really didn’t let the difficult exam get to me and, even though I wasn’t working with Ron, I managed to turn out some awesome dishes. I was a little bit nervous, because it was our first poultry day, and I was working with one of my friends (which would make things kind of awkward if we didn’t work well together, I thought!).

We made sauteed chicken, hunter style and chicken poached in a Mediterranean-style broth.  The Mediterranean chicken had olives, saffron, caper berries, cumin and all these spices I really love but I wasn’t crazy about the way the flavors all came together. It was good, but it’s not on my  “must-make-this-for-everyone-I-know” list like some of the other things I’ve learned are. The sauteed chicken, hunter style, on the other hand, was delicious. I would definitely make that again in a heartbeat. Especially since it’s so rich and comforting–perfect for the fall and winter season.

Sauteed Chicken, Hunter Style

Sauteed Chicken, Hunter Style

Poached Chicken in Mediterranean-Style Broth

Poached Chicken in Mediterranean-Style Broth

On Sunday morning, my boyfriend and I walked from his apartment downtown to Brooklyn for brunch. It was a gorgeous day, and the walk across the Brooklyn Bridge was so much fun–it was so pretty and something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. We found a great little brunch spot that had a garden with outdoor TVs playing the football games. We chose to sit outside, even though it was a bit chilly when the sun went away, because we figured it’s probably one of the last time’s we’ll get the chance to do that this season.

view of manhattan from the brooklyn bridge

walking across the brooklyn bridge

When I was settled back at home last night, I scooped up some ingredients to make a caramel apple pie. I had so many left over apples from apple picking the week before, and I really didn’t want them to go to waste. The pie was so delicious. I can’t wait to share the recipe  tomorrow!

I’m excited for tonight, because Monday is really the only night I have time to make myself a nice meal to enjoy throughout the week (except the food I make at school, of course), so I’m excited to cook a bit tonight.

What should I make? What are some of your favorite fall meals?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

